KIIT Quality Assurance Cell Organizes Online Welcome Meeting for Experts of Academic Audit 2020-21


KIIT Quality Assurance Cell organized an Online Welcome Meeting for the Experts of Academic Audit 2020-21 on 19th July 2021. The audit will be conducted across all schools of KIIT-DU from 19th to 24th July, 2021. The purpose of the academic audit is to encourage departments or programs to evaluate their “education quality processes” – the key faculty activities required to produce, assure, and regularly improve the quality of teaching, activity-based learning, question pattern, assessment,  curricular aspects, research, project, best practices, etc.

Prof. Sasmita Samanta, Pro-Vice Chancellor, KIIT-DU highlighted the objectives behind the Academic Audit. She informed that the Academic Audit was started long back in KIIT-DU by the instruction of Prof. Achyuta Samanta, Founder, KIIT & KISS, when this concept was not even there in the agenda of accrediting agencies. She also suggested changing the nomenclature as ‘Academic Empowerment Program’ in place of ‘Academic Audit’. It was highly appreciated by resource persons.

Prof. Sudarshan Nanda, Research Chair discussed in detail how the Academic Audit has strengthened the academic process of the University over the years. Dr. Arindam Deb, Deputy Director, Accreditations discussed the focal areas and evaluation matrices on which the Academic Audit will be conducted. Dr. Deb also informed that an online Google form for academic audit has been circulated to each member for assessment and suggestions.

Resource persons for Academic Audit are: I. Gopichandran (AIIMS, New Delhi); Suresh K Sharma, (AIIMS, Uttarakhand); Sukriya Nayak (CMC,Vellore); Sushil Mahapatra and Mukunda Chandra Sahoo (AIIMS, Bhubaneswar); Sitanshu Sekhar Kar (JIPMER, Puducherry); Pratyoosh Shukla and Farhan Durrani (BHU, Varanasi); Radhakant Padhi (IISc Bangalore); Ashok Kumar Pradhan, I. Sengupta, Jayanta Mukhopadhyay, Rintu Banerjee, P.K. Datta, Amit Basak, A Routray, A. R Mohanty and P Patnaik (IIT Kharagpur); R. Dodagoudar and V. Vetrivel (IIT, Madras); Pradip K. Das (IIT Guwahati); M. Jaleel Akhtar (IIT, Kanpur); Gautam Kumar Mahanti (NIT, Durgapur); Madhumita Roy (Jadavpur University); Bijay Kumar Rout (BITS Pilani); Diptendu Sinha Roy (NIT Meghalaya); Prafulla Chandra Rath (Kamala Nehru Women’s College, Bhubaneswar); Purvi Pokhorial (Nirma University); Snigdha Patnaik (Delhi Skills University); Uma Ballav Mohapatra (Rajendra University, Bolangir); Debasish Ghoshal (SRFTI, Kolkata); B. Jena (NIFT, Bhubaneswar); Biswajit Das (Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi); Sudipti Banerjia (University of Kolkata); and Sanjib Kumar Patra (Rajasthan Central University).

At the outset, Prof. Chinmoy Kumar Panigrahi, Director, Quality Assurance extended a warm welcome to the experts. He also appealed to the Heads of the Schools to implement the suggestions and recommendations of the Academic Audit team. Dr. Biswajit Mishra, Dean, Quality Assurance offered words of thanks to the participants for their active support and involvement. Registrar, Deans, Directors, Principals of all the schools, faculty coordinators of QA cell of KIIT-DU and external resource persons were present at the meeting.

You might also like