Inauguration of 14th ISEC 2021 at KIIT


The 14th Innovations in Software Engineering Conference (ISEC 2021) was organized by School of Computer Engineering, KIIT Deemed to be University. The ISEC-2021 is the annual conference of iSOFT, the India chapter of ACM SIGSOFT under the umbrella of ACM India.  As many as 66 full papers were received in the conference from different countries and these were reviewed by an International Program committee. Finally 21 papers were accepted for presentation and consequent publication proceedings of ACM. The Program Chairs were Prof. Tony Clark, Aston University, UK and Prof. Alpana Dubey, Accenture Lab, India.

The first day of the conference featured four parallel workshops designed in different fields of software engineering with the titles, Program Synthesis Driven Software Engineering, Software Engineering for an Uncertain World, Workshop on Emerging Software Engineering Education, and Tutorial on Tracer-X. These workshops were managed by the hybrid teams of academician and industry practitioners. Around 250 students and software engineers participated at these workshops. The day ended with the Student Project Contest. There were 25 students projects received in this contest and after review, 5 projects were selected and presented by the students. The session was chaired by Dr. Siddharth Swarup Rautaray, School of Computer Engineering.

The second day started with the inaugural ceremony of 14th ISEC-2021 which was addressed by Chief Guest Prof. (Dr.) Hrushikesha Mohanty, Vice Chancellor, KIIT DU; Prof. (Dr.) Biswajit Sahoo, Director, KIIT School of Computer Engineering; Prof. (Dr.) Samaresh Mishra, General Chair, ISEC-2021, Director (Student Affairs); Prof. (Dr.) D. P. Mohapatra, General Chair, ISEC-2021, Professor, NIT Rourkela, and Prof. Alpana Dubey, Program Chair, ISEC-2021, Accenture Lab, India.  The inaugural event concluded with the word of thanks by Dr. Jagannath Singh, Organising Chair, ISEC-2021, School of Computer Engineering. He conveyed gratitude on behalf of the ISEC core committee to Dr. Arup Abhinna Acharya, Dr. Prachet Bhuyan, Dr. Abhishek Ray, Dr. Bhabani Sankar Prasad Mishra and Dr. Santosh Kumar Swain, for their contributions to organize ISEC-2021. There were two keynote talks, first by Bran Selić, Malina Software Corp., Canada on the topic of “What’s Wrong with Users?” and the second by Gargi B. Dasgupta, Director, IBM Research, India & CTO, IBM India/South Asia.

The research tracks were hosted by faculties of School of Computer Engineering including Ms. Sital Dash, Dr. Ajay Kumar Jena, Dr. Chittaranjan Pradhan, Mr. Abhay Kumar Sahoo, Mr. R. N. Ramakanta Parida, and Dr. Subhasish Dash. Apart from the main research track and workshops there were other satellite events like Invited Talks, Workshops, Tutorials, Tech Briefings, PhD Symposium, Start-Ups tracks. The ISEC-2021 web site is maintained by Dr. Saurabh Bilgaiyan, School of Computer Engineering. 

You might also like