International Women’s Day Celebrated at KINS


A beautiful woman draws strength from troubles, smiles during distress and grows stronger with prayers & hope. When women are empowered, loved & acknowledged, incredible things happen, faith renews, bonds strengthen and generations flourish.

On the occasion of International Women’s Day, Indian Science Congress Association, Bhubaneswar Chapter in association with Kalinga Institute of Nursing Science NSS Unit and KIIT NSS Bureau celebrated the International Women’s Day on “Gender Equality Today for a Sustainable Tomorrow” on 8th March 2022. The programme was inaugurated in the presence of Dr. (Prof.) Niyati Das, Principal, KINS; Dr. (Mrs.) Kajal Parashar, Convener, ISCA Chapter & Programme Coordinator, KIIT NSS Bureau; Miss Kavita Mohapatra, Retired State Bank Officer, Secretary, SAKHA, Odisha; Mrs. Premlata Barik, MPH Supervisor (CHC), Jagatsinghpur; and Prof. Kalyani Rath, Vice Principal, KINS.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. (Prof) Niyati Das emphasized that women are the largest untapped reservoir of talent in the world and motivated students to show their talents and create their unique space in the world. Dr. Kajal Parashar spoke on the different objectives and functions of the ISCA, Bhubaneswar Chapter and also congratulated all the nurses for choosing a noble profession. Miss Kavita Mohapatra expressed her personal experiences of helping the destitute people and donating blood more than fifty times for them. She also said that positive intention and dedication are the two elements of an individual for achieving success in life. Mrs Premlata Barik (Nightingale Awardee) motivated students to love their profession and help others within their capacity which will be reflected in their life as blessings.

A colourful cultural programme was performed by NSS volunteers of KINS on the occasion. The programme was organized by the NSS Officers of KINS Miss Daini Sunita and Miss Anita Panigrahi. Around 220 participants were involved in the celebration. Prof. Kalyani Rath proposed the vote of thanks.