KIIT School of Electrical Engineering Organizes ICPEE Conference


KIIT School of Electrical Engineering, in association with IEEE Bhubaneswar Sub Section with technical co-sponsorship by IEEE, Kolkata Section and IEEE Industry Applications Society, organized 1st International Conference on Power Electronics and Energy (ICPEE-2021) on virtual mode during 2nd and 3rd January 2021. Theme of the conference was ‘Energy Control for Sustainable Development’.

Dr. Tamas Ruzsanyi, IEEE IAS Executive Board Member was the Chief Guest of the inaugural session, which was graced by Prof. Byomkesh Nayak, Joint Chair, Technical Program, ICPEE-2021 (Dean, SoEE); Prof. Vinod Khadkikar, Chair, Technical Program, ICPEE, 2021 (Khalifa Univ, Abu Dhabi); Prof Bijay Ketan Panigrahi, General Chair, ICPEE-2021 (Professor, IIT Delhi); Prof. Akshay Kumar Rathore, General Co-chair, ICPEE-2021; Prof. Ashok Kumar Tripathy, Chairman, IEEE Bhubaneswar Sub section; Prof. Sanjib Kumar Panda, Honorary Chair, ICPEE-2021, (NUS, Singapore); Mr. Sanjay Kar Choudhri, Chair, IEEE Kolkata section; Dr. Peter Magyar, IAS, Director of Chapter Development (Sweden); Prof. Sri Niwas Singh, Immediate Past Chair, IEEE India Council (IIT Kanpur); Prof. Sivaji Chakravorti, Vice President, INAE (Jadavpur University); and Prof. Hrushikesha Mohanty, Co-Patron, ICPEE-2021 (Vice Chancellor, KIIT).

Prof. Chinmoy Kumar Panigrahi, General Chair, ICPEE-2021 (Professor, SoEE, KIIT) welcomed the dignitaries and participants, while Prof. Ranjeeta Patel, Organizing Secretary, ICPEE, 2021 (Faculty, SoEE, KIIT) proposed the vote of thanks. The e-Proceedings of the conference was also released on the occasion.

As many as 100 papers were presented by the authors in 20 technical sessions during the conference. Prof. Anup Kumar Panda, NIT, Rourkela; Prof. (Dr.) B. R. Parekh, B. V. M. Engineering College, Vallabh Vidynagar; Prof. Nidul Sinha, NIT Silchar; Prof. A. K. Tripathy, Chair, IEEE Bhubaneswar Subsection; Prof. Murthy Cherukuri, NIST, Berhampur; Prof. S. C. Swain, KIIT; Prof. Celia Shahnaz, Bangladesh University of Engineering & Technology (BUET); Dr. Akhilesh Arvind Nimje, Nirma University; Prof.  Biswajit Ghosh, (JU);  Prof. A. V. Giridhar, NIT Warangal; Prof. M. K. Maharana, KIIT; Prof. Nataraj Pragallapati, NMSU, New Mexico; Prof. B. Chitti Babu, IIIT Kancheepuram; Dr. V. S. S. Pavan Kumar Hari, IIT Bombay; Dr. Amit Kumar, IIT Delhi; Dr. C. K. Panigrahi, KIIT; Dr. Debashis Chatterjee, Jadavpur University; Dr. Banishree Mishra, KIIT; Dr. Bidyadhar Subudhi, IIT Goa; Dr. Premalata Jena, IIT Roorkee; Dr. S. R. Ghatak, KIIT; Prof. Piyush Pratap Singh, NIT Meghalaya; Dr. Udai P. Singh, KIIT;  Prof. Sanjeet K. Dwivedi, Danfoss, Denmark; Prof. A. Rakesh Kumar, NIT Trichy; Dr. Kundan Kumar, NIT Manipur; Prof.  Ramaprasad Panda, Silicon Institute of Technology, Bhubaneswar; Dr. S. K. Barik, KIIT; Prof. Banaja Mohanty, VSSUT Burla; and Dr. Sanjoy Debbarma, NIT Meghalaya were present.

Four keynote lectures were delivered on the first day of the conference. Prof. Akshay Kumar Rathore, Concordia University, Canada spoke on ‘Six Pulse Modulation for Electrolytic Capacitor less Pulsating DC Link 3-Phase Inverter for e-Mobility in India’, while Prof. Sanjib Kumar Panda, NUS, Singapore delivered a lecture on ‘Transactive Energy based Energy Management System for Modern Commercial Buildings’. Prof. Bijay Ketan Panigrahi, IIT Delhi and Dr. Sanjeet Dwivedi, Danfoss, Denmark spoke on ‘Soft Computing Techniques in Electrical Protection’ and ‘Recent Developments and Trends in Power Electronics and Electrical Drives’ respectively.         

On the second day, Prof. Anurag Srivastava, Washington State University, USA delivered the keynote address on ‘Utilizing Microgrid as a Resilience Resource in the Sustainable Electric Distribution System’. Prof. Subhransu Ranjan Samantaray, IIT Bhubaneswar spoke on ‘Issues and Challenges in Micro-Grid Protection’. Two more keynote lectures on ‘Smart Energy Management’ and ‘Active, Reactive, and Harmonic Power Sharing Islanded Micro grids’ were delivered by Mr. Ravi Bhushan Singh, Schneider Electric and Prof. Vinod Khadkikar, Khalifa University, Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Valedictory function was graced by Dr. K. R. Suresh Nair, Chair, IEEE India Council; Dr. Venugopal Shankar, Vice President, Mahindra; Prof. Srinibash Karanki, Publication Chair (IIT Bhubaneswar); Prof.  Sarat Chandra Swain, Chair,  Local Organizing Committee, ICPEE-2021 (KIIT); Prof. Tanmoy Roy Choudhury, Chair, Publicity Committee (KIIT); Dr. Subhra Devdas, Chair, Publicity Committee, (KIIT); Dr. Rudra Narayan Dash, Chair, Finance  Committee (KIIT); Dr. Kundan Kumar, Organizing Secretary (NIT Manipur); Prof. Jnyana Ranjan Mohanty, Registrar, KIIT; Prof. Subhranshu Ranjan Samataray, Secretary, IEEE Bhubaneswar Sub-section (IIT Bhubaneswar); Prof. Celia Shahnaz, Chair, IEEE Bangladesh Section (Professor, BUET); Prof. Sudarshan Nanda, Research Chair, KIIT; and Prof. Chinmoy Kumar Panigrahi, General Chair, ICPEE-2021 (Professor, SoEE, KIIT). Award for best paper in Technical Track and one best paper throughout the Conference were given away on the occasion. Word of thanks was proposed by Dr. Chitralekha Jena, Organizing Secretary, (KIIT).  

The event was attended by all faculty members, technical staff, B.Tech students, M.Tech students, Ph.D Scholars and students presenting papers.

You might also like