8th PSSI-Plasma Scholars’ Colloquium (PSC-2020) Inaugurated


The ‘Eighth PSSI-Plasma Scholars Colloquium’ (PSC-2020), organized by Plasma Science Society of India (PSSI) in association with Department of Physics, School of Applied Sciences, KIIT Deemed to be University, was inaugurated on 8th October, 2020. The two-day online colloquium started with the opening remarks by Dr. P. K. Atre, President, PSSI. Dr. Paritosh Chaudhuri, General Secretary, PSSI and Dr. S. K. S. Parashar, Convenor of PSC-2020 also spoke at the inaugural session. The e-Proceedings of the colloquium was unveiled during the opening session by Dr. Paritosh Chaudhuri.

The first session, based on the theme ‘Basic Plasma Experiments and Simulations’, was chaired by Dr. Pintu Bandopadhayay. The first invited lecture of the session was delivered by Dr. Sudeep Bhattacharjee, from IIT Kanpur, followed by 11 oral presentations by researchers. The second session of the day was chaired by Dr. Mainak Bandopadhayay and the topic of the session was Fusion Science and Technology. The invited lecture of this session was delivered by Dr. Joydeep Ghosh of Institute of Plasma Research followed by 10 oral presentations. The Colloquium was coordinated by Dr. Bhavya Bhushan, Dept. of Physics, School of Applied Sciences, KIIT-DU.

Plasma Scholars Colloquium is organized every year to motivate young researchers working in the field of Plasma, to provide them a platform for interaction with eminent scientists working on various aspects of Plasma. Over the years, PSC has been making significant contributions to fundamental and applied research in Plasma Physics and associated technologies. Every year, the colloquium accommodates maximum 75 participants but in the 8th session, more than 100 participants joined online.