KISS-DU Observes 87th Death Anniversary of Utkal Gourab Madhusudan Das


On the occasion of the 87th Death Anniversary of Utkal Gourab Madhusudan Das, a meeting was organized at KISS Deemed to be University, under the aegis of Madhusudan Das Research Chair,for remembering his seminal contribution.

Prof. Santanu Kumar Acharya, National Sahitya Academy Awardee and Eminent Indian Writer graced the occasion as the Distinguished Speaker. He emphasized on the early life, professional life and political career of Madhusudan Das and his solid stand and unparalleled dedication in making of Modern Odishafor which he is known as the “Architect of Modern Odisha”.

Prof. Harekrishna Satapathy, Advisor, KISS-DU explained the objectives of establishing Madhusudan Das Research Chair at KISS-DU. He said, apart from regular academic teaching and learning, the University has instituted four Research Chairs in the honour of four illustrious sons of Odisha, namely, Utkal Gourab Madhusudan Das, Utkalmani Pandit Gopabandhu Das, Santha Kabi Bhima Bhoi and Prabada Purusha Biju Pattnaik.   

At the outset, Prof. Jugal Kishore Mishra, Chair Professor, Madhusudan Das Research Chair welcomed Prof. Sasmita Samanta, Vice Chancellor, KISS-DU; Prof. Santanu Kumar Acharya; Prof. Harekrishna Satapathy, Advisor and Dr. Prashanta Ku. Routray, Registrar. He also welcomed Chair Professors, Principal, Vice Principals, Associate Deans and all the participants.  Prof. Mishra explained the vision and ideals of Dr. Achyuta Samanta, Founder, KIIT & KISS and the activities of the research chairs in the direction of creating a Research Eco-system in the University.

Dr. Prashanta Kumar Routray thanked the Vice Chancellor, Distinguished Speaker and all the participants for attending the meeting and urged to work sincerely to fulfill the vision of the Founder in making the University a unique research hub in the country.

You might also like