KIMS Hosts Odisha State PEDICON 2021


The 41st Annual Conference of IAP Odisha State Pedicon was organized by KIMS on 11th & 12th December 2021.Theme of this year’s conference was Newborn Care + Nutrition: Critical Care and Vaccination: Passport to Adulthood.

About 250 delegates, faculties & resource persons from all over the state participated in the two-day programme. There were deliberations on latest developments and recommendations in the field of Pediatrics including neonatology that led to the knowledge sharing and made an impact on day to day practice of Pediatricians of our State. Besides this, many practical skills and knowledge were  imparted to around 100 young  doctors through pre-conference workshops conducted at Cuttack (Sishu Bhawan) and Bhubaneswar (Padmaja Convention) on 10th December.

At the inaugural function, Prof. Achyuta Samanta, Founder, KIIT & KISS thanked all the pediatricians of Odisha for their work during the COVID-19 pandemic and their dedication in upliftment of health of the children in rural sectors of Odisha. He praised the fraternity for their commitment and perseverance to bring the infant mortality rate (IMR) of Odisha to national level, which was in bad shape 10 years back.

Dr. Bijay Panigrahi, Director, Health & Family Welfare and  President of IAP, Odisha state branch emphasized on vaccination program, malnutrition care and collaboration of private and Govt Health Care System for better child health care. Prof. Sebaranjan Biswal, Secretary IAP Odisha, enumerated the various activities over the last one year. Cuttack received the best district branch award and Balasore received the best ORS week celebration branch award from Dr. A. Samanta, who was the chief guest of the event.

Two UG students Miss Divya Sharma  and  Miss Swapna Shibangi Satapathy, both 9th semester students of KIMS who topped the state level (Divisional round) Undergraduate Pediatric quiz competition for 2021, were awarded gold medals by the chief guest. Dr. P. K. Sahu, former President of IAP Odisha proposed a vote of thanks.

Among the other dignitariesProf. CBK Mohanty, Pro VC, KIIT Deemed to be University; Prof. P. K. Pattnaik, Director General, KIMS; Prof. A. P. Mohanty, Principal, KIMS; and Scientific Chairman Dr. N. Modi were present at the function. Prof. Sailaja Nandan Parida, new President, IAP State Branch appreciated the effort and commitment  by the organizing  committee, notably Prof. Sebaranjan Biswal, Secretary, IAP State Branch for successful accomplishment of such an event within a short span of only three weeks.  

You might also like