12th KIIT International Chess Festival Concluded

0 193

Jointly organized by All Odisha Chess Association and KIIT Deemed to be University, the 12th Edition of KIIT International Chess Festival 2019 was concluded on 7th June, 2019, which was  held at KIIT Campus from 31st May to 7th June, 2019.

GM Iturrizaga Bonelli Eduardo (8 points) of Venezuela bagged the Champions Trophy with Rs. 2 lakh cash prize in “A” Category, while GM Neverov Valeriy (8) of Ukraine and Ter-Sahakyan Samvel (8) of Armenia bagged 2nd and 3rd positions respectively. They received trophy with cash prize of Rs.1 lakh and Rs. 80 thousand respectively.

The players of Odisha excel in Category “C”. Bishal Pattnaik (8.5 points) bagged the Champions trophy with cash prize of Rs. 60 thousand, while Miracle Panda (8) bagged the runners up trophy with Rs. 40 thousand cash prize and Satyam Prakash of Delhi placed in 3rd position and received Rs. 30 thousand cash prize.

The valedictory session was graced by Sri Naba Kishore Das,  Minister Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of Odisha; Sri Padmanava Behera, Minister, Transport & Commerce and Sri Sameer Ranjan Dash, Minister, School and Mass Education in presence of Prof. Sasmita Samanta, Registrar, KIIT Deemed to be University; Sekhar Sahu, Tournament Director & Vice President-AICF; Debabrata Bhatta, Hony. Secretary, All Odisha Chess Association (AOCA) and Ranjan Mohanty, Vice President, AOCA. 

Dr. Achyuta Samanta, Founder, KIIT & KISS congratulated all the winners of the tournament and wished them good luck.