International Conference on “Emerging Smart Materials in Applied Chemistry” at KIIT


Materials, in many forms, play an important role in day-to-day activities of humans. Based on this reality, an international conference, “Emerging Smart Materials in Applied Chemistry – ESMAC 2021” was organised at KIIT Deemed to be University via online platform.

Both academics and industries work relentlessly to meet human needs by designing new materials for applications. While academicians are inclined towards innovations leading to publications, industries look forward to cost-benefit in industrial productions. Though their goals fall in the same line, the objectives are distinctly different. In this regard, it is essential to create an ecosystem where researchers from academics and industries come together on the same platform with a common goal to strengthen the materials research. The major benefits of the ecosystem would be exchange of ideas and opening income streams for fundamental research.

With this aim, ESMAC-2021 was organized by inviting researchers from industry and academics to discuss various aspects of materials in the field of environment, energy and related streams. The research scholars came together, talked and shared the fundamentals of science on this platform with a goal to diversify and decentralize science and technology. The conference had a spectrum of speakers with diverse perspectives, but with a common goal which is to strengthen materials.

Prof. Hrushikesha Mohanty, VC, KIIT-DU; Prof. Sasmita Samanta, Pro-VC; Prof. Jnyana Ranjan Mohanty, Registrar; Prof. B. L. V. Prasad, Director, CeNS; and Dr. D. Saravanan D, Principal, Kumaraguru College of Technology, Coimbatore encouraged the participants at the inaugural ceremony. More than 38 distinguished professors and 36 researchers from eight countries, USA, Australia, South Africa, China, South Korea, Japan, Thailand, and India, presented their research work at the conference. More than 500 participants across the length and breadth of the globe attended the conference.

The organizing team, comprising Dr. Ajay K. Mishra, Dr. Sanjay Maji, Dr. Prashant Rath, Dr. K. R. Arangayangam, Dr. R. Kanan, and all the professors benevolently chaired each session. Convener for the conference, Dr. Rojalin Sahu, and Co-Conveners, Dr. Raghabendra Samantaray and Dr. Sanjay Maji earned special thanks for their role in organising this International Conference.