KISS Lifetime Achievement and KIIT Eminence Awards Conferred

Founder of KIIT and KISS Dr. Achyuta Samanta  conferred the prestigious KISS Lifetime Achievement Award and KIIT Eminence Award on Chair, International Task Force on Human Trafficking, USA Anne Basham and Executive Director Democracia Global, Argentina Camila Lopez-Badra, respectively, at the campus of Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences.

Welcoming the distinguished guests on the occasion, Dr. Samanta said “Anne Basham has tireless dedication and outstanding contributions in the field of human trafficking advocacy and truly made a difference in the lives of countless victims across the globe.  She is also credited with bringing together MPs, experts and government leaders from 23 countries and six continents in promoting global security and protecting human rights.’’

On Camila Lopez-Badra, Dr. Samanta observed how as the Executive Director of Democracia Global and coordinator of a Latin American and Caribbean Criminal Court against Organized Transnational Crime, she has been a tireless advocate for justice and democracy in the region.

While Ms. Basham has been conferred the KISS Lifetime Achievement Award for her human rights advocacy, Ms. Lopez-Badra has been conferred KIIT Eminence Award for promoting human rights and global peace.

In her reaction Ms. Basam said “KISS and KIIT are truly wonderful institutions. I am truly astonished to see the amount of influences and impact they have made in transforming society and especially the lives of women and young girls. I have never seen such an example anywhere in the world.’’

Speaking to media persons Ms Lopez-Badra said “I am happy to see students and especially girls getting educated at the KISS and KIIT and I would urge them to get educated properly to have a fruitful future. However, they should always try to think out of the box as we need them to change our future world.’’

At the award giving ceremony Vice-Chancellor of KISS Deemed-to-be-University Prof. Deepak Behera and Registrar, KISS-DU Dr. Prashant  Routray were present, among others.